top of page
  • Writer's pictureDilli

I like a seat up near the front

I like a seat up near the front so I can catch the sunset and watch the city as we glide in.

You say the best seat is over the wing: beauty lies in mechanics, in gravity, machines, and science, in watching how air is spoiled - you explained it all to me once.


I rest my head on you

and feel your warmth

as I watch the clouds glow gold.

Fingers interlaced,

we become a sort of yin and yang. You’re hazel and I’m grey-blue.

You’re clipped and I’m chewed. You’re the calm and I’m the storm. Maybe.

But as I look again towards the sun

and think of Mars riding his chariot through the sky,

I know that you're no more him

than I am Venus.

We’re not chalk and cheese; we’re both our own hue.

Whether violet or red:

we're on the same spectrum.

So why does it matter

that we like different seats? Because the best one is always next to you.

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kafka

bottom of page